Review: Kat von D Shade + Light eye palette

Hey everyone!

As promised I wanted to review my Kat von D Shade + Light eye palette that I received as a goodbye gift from my last job. I am currently an unemployed graduate! Woot.
While I had seen this palette, I was not going to purchase it because I am drawn to shimmery shadows and this is all matte. But when I got it as a gift I was blown away. I swatched a couple colours that night when I got home and it was so pigmented and creamy and I was so happy it was mine. That was in April, so I have had lots of time to play around with it. And I find I reach for it everyday now. I bought myself the Make Up For Ever Artist Nude palette and might be returning it because I really don’t need it now.
Anyways here are some swatches and shots of the gorgeous palette.

image

The packaging looks identical to the Shade + Light contour palette with the exception of the “eye” graphic under the name. I love how sleek it feels, it is weighty but not too heavy.

image

The colours are separated into three quasi-quads that are meant to be neutral, cool and warm toned. The first quad is my most used simply for the middle chocolate brown colour.

image

The first quadrant has a larger top Shade called Laetus (I use this all over my eyelid), then it has a light brown called Samael, my favourite shade which is a chocolate brown and it is called Solas and finally a white called Lucius.

image

The top and bottom shades do not show up much when swatched on my arm and this is why I love them as an all over base to even out my eyelids.

image

The next quad seems more cool. I like the top shade called Lazarus mixed with other shades to add depth. The brown underneath is nice and it is called Saleos. The black is super pigmented and is called Shax. Finally we have another cream-like white called Liberatus.

image

The cream one is the only one I had to layer. The others are all one swipe. Super creamy and I love how easy they are to use.

image

The last quad is more warmer toned. The larger top shade is called Ludwin. The lighter brown is called Succubus, the darker brown is called Sytry. The last shade is Latinus which is another lighter shade.

Overall this palette is full of stunning nude shades that are easy to work with and blendable. They are very flattering and help you give your eyes a contoured effect. I use it in the simplest ways since I am still new to the eye makeup game, but if you have any skills this is also a must have palette. I highly recommend this palette, even if you are not drawn to mattes, you won’t miss the shimmer.

One thought on “Review: Kat von D Shade + Light eye palette

Leave a Reply

