Monthly Favourites: May 2015

Hey everyone!

As mentioned before I have been home job hunting for the last month to cut down on costs, so I only packed a few products. Originally I was coming home for one weekend but that turned into a month, so the products I had for that weekend turned into the only products I had for a month until I returned back to my apartment to get more things. So this will be a short favourites. I did not want to mention my usual faves (Hourglass Ambient Light powder, Gimme Brow, Roller Lash, MAC Plumful, Bioderma, Tarte Smooth Operator, etc.) because that is lame, so I figured rather short and sweet than long and repetitive.

IMG_20150605_124826

First off would be a usual fave, but I recently started a new tube. I had used the last one to the ground and forgot how creamy and smooth a new tube is. This is so pigmented and creamy when you have a full tube, and while I was still fine with the product coming out of the older tube, it is a completely different feeling having a fresh tube. I use the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla, though I should buy the lightest one (Chantilly) since I use the lightest foundation from Nars and want a highlight effect.

PhotoGrid_1433524251974

Next is a simple blush I brought home because of how easy it is to use. I brought two blushes home (Milani’s Luminoso was the other one) and both were easy to use blushes with a highlighting aspect. They are easy to swipe on and get on with my day. I do not like my usual makeup back home, because my family is not used to the foundation/eyeliner version of me and say how they prefer the lighter concealer/mascara version. I also don’t feel the need to wear so much makeup to do groceries or go to dinner in our small town. This is the Becca Beach Tint Shimmer Souffle in Lychee/Opal. It is a blush/highlight hybrid in a mousse form that I stipple on my cheeks in less than a minute and it gives me a healthy summer flush.

IMG_20150605_124843

Next is another Nars product. When I put on eyeshadow (less than once a week) I use this to keep it all in place. I used to use the Urban Decay one, but I like the texture of the Nars Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base better.

PhotoGrid_1433524308911IMG_7988-1024x683

My go-to eyeshadow has been a super simple and subtle smoky eye. I have been using my matte Shade + Light eye palette from Kat von D mostly this month. I use the shades Laetus and Lazarus (top two on the left) mixed all over the lid and have been putting a little Solas (bottom second from the left) to darken the outer corner and blended into the crease. I love this look and these shadows blend super well. I will be doing a swatch review soon of this palette so look for that if this palette is on your wishlist.

IMG_20150605_124935

I have been using this little guy this month and I love it. It is the Line and Define Lip Primer from Bite Beauty. It smells like peppermint and helps smooth over the lines in my lips for a smoother lipstick application. It feel moisturizing and that is always something I like in lip products.

IMG_20150605_124957

Next is something I mention a lot. I know. I am sorry. I have been using this guy and his brother from another mother all month, though, so it needs to be said. This is the YSL Volupte Tint-in-oil in the shade Cherry Me Cherie (his brother is in Peach Me Love). I love love love this product. They are moisturizing and easy to use. They make your lips look plump and luscious and smells amazing! There is nothing I do not like about this product.

IMG_20150605_130157

Next is a fragrance. I bought this before coming home for the weekend/month and I love this scent. It is from Bath and Body Works in their Spring/Summer collection. It is called Georgia Peach and Sweet Tea and that is no exaggeration. It is pure peach with a hint of sweet tea and I am in love. This is a gorgeous summer scent. I love peaches and this is like crack. I just want to keep spraying it everywhere. If you want anything from Bath and Body Works they are currently having their Semi-Annual sale and this particular mist is 50% off! So go now!

rookie

My TV obsession this month has been Rookie Blue. I had not watched an episode before this month and I am currently almost done the second season. I love the Canadian context and the blend of personal lives and cop-business this show offers the audience. I am also 100% on Team Sam & Andy!

x

My music obsession has been X by Ed Sheeran. I saw him in concert on June 3rd, so I spend the month of May learning the songs and lyrics in order to prep myself for concert. Now that the concert has passed, I really did not need to learn the songs or listen through. It is an entirely different thing in concert, I spent half the night with my jaw on the floor in awe of this master. If I did not love Ed Sheeran before this concert, I do now. He is such a musical genius. Just him, his guitar and a loop machine and I was more entertained and hooked than big acts with multiple dancers and costume changes (e.g. Katy Perry). I would go see him in a heartbeat and I recommend seeing him if the chance arises! He is amazing at performing his hits, but also masterful at blending them with other songs (his own and covers). Faves from this album would be Photograph, Don’t, The Man and Bloodstream and I See Fire.

Leave a Reply

