Monthly Favourites: April 2015

Hey everyone!

Me again! I am back with my monthly favourites. This month was a little hectic since it was my exam period and I was finishing up my second bachelor degree. So makeup was usually just whatever I could slap on easily and get back to studying. Also with the VIB Rouge sale I did get a lot of new things that found their way into my routine. A couple things in here are from the sale, because they arrived earlier in the month and were used a lot during the month of April. Without further ado, my favourites! (Read til the end for lifestyle faves, including food, TV and music).

april_faves3

First off is a product I now take for granted because it goes without saying that I use this every single day. Whether it is a full face foundation day or just a concealer under the eyes and go day, this is my best friend. I love my Beauty Blender.

april_faves4

Next as mentioned I did have a few just concealer days and I do not leave the house without setting my concealer with my Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder. It keeps my concealer from creasing and is not heavy at all. I have also been using it on the bridge of my nose to avoid makeup coming off now that I am wearing sunglasses.

april_faves

Next is this Z-palette. I just bought this during the VIB Rouge sale and the instant I got it I spend half an hour depotting and arranging products inside. I was not sure it would fit all the things I wanted to put in, but it fit them and then some. I still have a huge space which is good because I might invest in some Makeup Geek shadows someday. I love the spatula this came with and the little metal discs are great to put non-magnetic products inside. It currently houses my 5 Benefit blushes and bronzer from the Box O’ Blushes set as well as the Watt’s Up cream highlight pan. It also had room for my Ardency Inn shadow, my Urban Decay eyeshadow and a mini Urban Decay shadow as well.

april_faves5

For the first half of the month (until the next product arrived) I used this mousse blush every day. It is the Rimmel Stay Blushed liquid cheek tint in 001 Pop of Pink. I put a small amount of the back of my hand and spread it out with my finger then used my stipple brush from Real Techniques to apply it lightly to my cheeks. It is the most beautiful pink and is so light and blendable. I love this product and as a drugstore product it is super affordable.

april_faves2

This blush is amazing. I bought this during the sale and I am so glad I did. It is the Becca Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé in Lychee/Opal. It is a bubblegum pink that has an amazing highlight swirled in it. At first you can see the separate colours but once you start swirling they blend together and you get this shimmery colour for your cheeks. I love love love this product. It gives the most beautiful flush for the summer time. I want to own them all!

april_faves7

Next is something I got last month. This is the Nars Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base. I love this little guy. The smallest amount goes such a long way and it makes my eyeshadows pop and last all day. I can’t rave enough about this product.

april_faves6

Next is a setting spray. With the summer arriving slowly here, I need to use a setting spray. I used this Chill one from Urban Decay for the latter part of the winter because if its hydrating qualities, but thought I might have to go back to the De-Slick for the summer. I did try one day of the De-Slick this month and my skin felt tight, so I went back to this. It might be too early to switch back to the mattifying formula. My skin is still a little dry and has not gone back to its usual summer oily state. I will have to keep an eye on it to see if it does end up oily again or if this is my new skin type.

april_faves10

Next is a new mascara. All my previous favourites posts have mentioned my love of Tarte mascaras, but I am here to break that mould! This is the new(ish) Benefit Roller Lash mascara. I was slow to jump of this bandwagon since I really did not like the They’re Real mascara, but I figured it was worth a try. I got this free sample and it was the perfect chance to give it a go. I love it. It does help curl my lashes but it seems to lengthen and add volume as well. I have since got a full size for when this one runs out. It is a spectacular mascara for my lashes.

april_faves8

I have fallen back in love with this next product. I once thought this was amazing but then stopped using it for a different one. I recently have started testing a lot of matte liquid lipsticks and wanted my lips to not be chapped before I tested their formulas to get the best picture of the product. This is the Bite Agave Lip Mask. It comes in a little tube that is quite hard to squeeze the thick product out of, but I like squeeze tube lip products over pots. I put this on before bed because it is really thick and when I wake up I can steal feel it on there.

april_faves9

My favourite lip product has been this YSL Tint in Oil in the colour Peach Me Love which I got during the sale. I love this colour. As you know from my other favourites I love this formula, but this particular colour takes the cake! It is a beautiful colour for the summer and it is light.

april_faves13

For skincare I have been using the same products from the previous favourites post, but I have been back to using this moisturizer religiously. If you follow me on twitter (@makeup_fangirl) you will have seen that I finished my first one of these (though a bit smaller since it was a point perk – 1 oz.) and finally got to open this one. This is the Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturizer. It felt amazing to finish something like that. I love this moisturizer, it makes my skin plump and ready for makeup and smells like oranges which helps wake me up.

april_faves12

My favourite nail polish is an older one. i bought this over a year ago and wanted a nice turquoise for this month to bring in spring! This is from Urban Outfitters and is called Flip Flop. I am not sure if they still sell this one, but I got it for 6$.

april_faves11

A non-beauty fave is this candle from Bath and Body Works in Vanilla Bean Marshmallow. I am half way through it and i have repurchased. It smells amazing. I am a sucker for peach, vanilla and coconut scents. This is like a mix of my two fave Christmas scents which are the vanilla cookie one and the marshmallow fireside one.

april_faves14

My new food fave has been this ice cream from Ben and Jerry‘s in the flavour Half Baked. It is amazing! It has cookie dough and brownies, need I say more?!

happyland-tv

Next for TV I did not watch a lot of complete series, since I barely managed to keep up with my regular shows with exams. But in the past week I did manage to watch all the episodes of this show called Happyland. I say all episodes but it only had 8 before it was canceled. Which is sad because I really liked it. Apparently people were disturbed with the almost-incestuous plot line, but if anyone has read the Mortal Instruments this was nothing. I really liked the actors and I am sad this won’t be something I can keep watching.

april_faves16

For some reason the last show made me want to watch 90210. I breezed past the first season since I did watch this show once upon a time, but had stopped. I did vaguely remember the plot though, so I managed to skip over some episodes. I am currently almost done the second season. I like this show. It might not seem to be super deep or insightful, but I like it for its entertainment value and its drama. Plus Matt Lanter is easy on the eyes, so who am I to judge?

Favourites songs have been another one from Hozier (sorry guys my last few months have all had songs from him too!). I honestly fall in love with another one of his songs every month, I can’t help it. This month was Like Real People Do. It is such a good song. It is soothing and cute and I can’t get enough. Honestly, I wish he was coming here for Bluesfest this year.

My other fave song was from Sia (I know I have mentioned her before as well). This month it was Big Girls Cry. I just thoroughly enjoyed this song. It is emotional and speaks to me. I can’t explain my love, but I recommend checking it out.

That is all for my faves. I hope you enjoyed this post. I like recapping my month in favourites. It makes me think about the month in retrospect and gauge what I loved. What were your faves this month?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Favourites: April 2015

Leave a Reply

