Review: Malibu Soapworks Brush Wash from January Starbox

Hey everyone!

As promised here is a quick review of the Malibu Soapworks “Young Coconut” Brush Wash that I received from my January Starbox. In the comments of that post, someone asked for a post on how to use it and how it works. So since I have never used a brush wash before (I use hand soap – yikes!) I thought this would be a great post for all.

To the bathroom sink!

brush_wash

So these are the brushes I have used since the last time I washed my brushes… Not many, but they were well loved this last week.

brush_wash2

So this is what the product looks like when it is dry and new. It is a dry hockey puck shaped brick of cleaner inside the plastic tub.

brush_wash3

So I started off my rinsing ย the brush I wanted to clean (this is my Real Techniques Stippling Brush that I use for contour/bronzer, so it is brown tinted most of the time).

brush_wash4

Next I started to rub it onto the cleaner. Nothing fancy just go to town swirling it around. You get a little bit of suds and liquid in the container, which is not a problem just keep going. When you are satisfied, stop swirling and rinse the brush off.

brush_wash5

You can drain the excess liquid from the container by tipping it over and letting it run out. I gave mine a rinse at the end of washing all the brushes to get any makeup stuck in the container out before it dries until I use it again.

brush_wash6

Bam! Not only is this the whitest I have seen it since I bought it, but it is so soft and smells like coconut.

brush_wash7

It even got my powder brush clean, which has a lot of denseness due to the amount of bristles. And it is still soft and smooth.

Since I am on a cleaning kick, I decided to include a mini-post about my new beauty blender and its solid cleanser.

brush_wash8

Pre-wash that is nasty. Dried, caked on foundation and concealer.

The same process applies for this product, I wet the sponge and swirled it on the solid cleanser until clean.

brush_wash9

Bam! Nothing feels better than clean makeup tools. Especially when it is a pure white one like this.

For anyone interested in the Malibu Soapworks Brush Wash you can buy it for 12.50$ on the Starlooks website here: http://starlooks.com/collections/brushes/products/young-coconut-brush-cleaner

Happy washing!

2 thoughts on “Review: Malibu Soapworks Brush Wash from January Starbox

Leave a Reply

