July Ipsy Vs. Beauty Box 5: Part 1

Hey everyone!

So this post is happening way sooner in the month than I could have predicted. As a Canadian citizen I am fully aware that it takes longer to ship here than within the US. However, I somehow managed to receive both my monthly subscriptions today, not even half way through the month. If this is how it is always going to be then I will have a grand time. I was not expecting this quick and was hoping it would arrive before August 😉

I figured since it is my first month for both, then I would compare the two and let you know which I found better for this month. I would love comments on past experiences with both subscriptions since I am thinking of narrowing it down to one subscription and I don’t know whether to judge them on this box or give them another month.

Without any more blah blah… here are the products I received. 

IPSY_JULY

First of all I will show in detail what I got from Ipsy. Ipsy costs me 10$/month plus 4.95$ shipping. With Ipsy you fill out a quiz that helps them match products to your needs/ interests. They also have something called a Glam Room where the day they ship out the bags, you receive the list of what you are getting and the list of what the options for the month were, so you can compare what you got to what everyone else could get. This also leads to swaps on the site. Both Ipsy and Beauty Box 5 amp up the boxes right before they ship with clues and hints to what is coming.

This month the Ipsy theme is Sensationally Sunkissed and the products came in this lovely bright pink scalloped bag. 

IPSY_JULY_BareMinerals

The first thing I pulled out of the bag was an eyeshadow duo from Bare Minerals called The Inspiration. This duo includes a frosty pink shade and a glittery plum shade. This is a mini size, so not full sized. I am excited to try these out. They are quite pigmented for the price of them and the shades compliment each other nicely.

The full size retails at Sephora for 25$: http://www.sephora.com/bareminerals-ready-eyeshadow-2-0-P297711

IPSY_JULY_Bronzer

Next item I received was a Sunkissed Bronzer from Pop Beauty in the shade Secret Sunshine. This is my first product from Pop Beauty and I love the colour payoff of this bronzer. It is a light shimmer bronzer and is quite lovely. I could not find the retail price from Pop Beauty’s website. When you click the product link is says Out of Stock and 0.00 pounds.

Pop Beauty Secret Sunshine Sunkissed Bronzer: http://www.popbeauty.co.uk/Popbeauty_Products/Cheeks/Sunkissed_Bronzer/Index.html

IPSY_JULY_Tint

Next I received a cheek and lip tint called Tints & Sass from Elizabeth Mott in the shade Cherry. I have never tried a lip and cheek tint like this before. It reminds me of Benefit’s Posietint, Lollitint and Benetint. This one has a doe foot applicator and is super easy to use. It does stain quite nicely and has a lovely sheer red colour. I am excited to use this more. 

This item (I received the full size 0.35 oz.) retails for 22.99$: http://www.elizabethmott.com/shop/tints-and-sass-lip-tint/ 

IPSY_JULY_Tanning oil

My fourth item was a mini bottle of Hang Ten Dark Tanning Oil SPF 08. While I do not tend to go out with the purpose of tanning in the summer, I will have to make the effort to try just so I can test this product and let you all know if I think it is worth the money. 

The full size of this product retails for 11.99$ (which seems reasonable for a tanning oil): https://hangtensunscreen.com/shop/dark-tanning-oil-spf-08/

ISPY_JULY_Nail polish

My last product from my July Ipsy bag was this Whet nail polish in the colour Facetious, which is a lovely dark cobalt blue. I love blue nail polish so when I saw this was in my bag I was super happy. The other nail polish option was nude and I do not do nude nail polish. I am happy this was chosen for me. 

Full size retails for 15$ on the Whet site: http://www.mebath.com/whetnails/index.php/store.html#

Before I go on to show you what I got from Beauty Box 5 (BB5), if you are thinking of joining Ipsy please use my referral link (http://www.ipsy.com/r/i734). I definitely was super happy with this bag and recommend it for people who want to try new things and love receiving beauty products at their front door.

Check the next link for Part 2!

 

 

Leave a Reply

