Review: Recently Purchased Lip Products

I have been buying a lot lately, and I decided I need to stop for a bit and actually use what I have bought. I realized I bought a decent amount of lip products, so I may as well review them together.

The order of reviews will be lighter shades first then opaque and bright ones.

I figured I should give some sort of scale to add to my thoughts on the product. I will give each product a score out of 5 (1 being low, 5 being high) for opacity, smoothness of application and longevity.

Image

First of all is the sheerest purchases I made recently. This the Benefit BeneBalm. It is a very sheer red colour. I love this product, just one thing to note is the off-putting rose smell and icky taste. It smells nice on its own but having it placed directly below your nose for long periods of time is kind of gross. Also do not make the mistake of accidentally licking your lips.

Opacity: 1

Application: 4

Longevity: 3

Benefit Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm: http://www.sephora.com/hydrating-tinted-lip-balm-P386701?skuId=1580976&country_switch=ca

Image

This is the YSL Rouge Volupté Shine in the colour 6 Pink in Devotion. I love this product. It is more on the sheer side than a normal lipstick but I love that. I tend to gravitate to bright opaque colours but rarely wear them on a day-to-day basis, this is a great way to wear a bright shade without feeling too heavy on the makeup. The package is also beautiful and the smell is amazing. It smells sweet like candy.

Opacity: 3

Application: 5

Longevity: 3

YSL Rouge Volupté: http://www.sephora.com/rouge-volupte-shine-P377710?skuId=1484781&country_switch=ca

Image

Next is the OCC Stained Gloss Test Tube I received in the Sephora Summer Stash kit. This product comes in a tiny little tube and comes with a mini lip brush. It is exactly what it says, a gloss with some stain staying power. This is in the colour New Wave which is a bright pink. Nothing notable on taste or smell which is fine by me.

Opacity: 3

Application: 4

Longevity: 4

OCC Stained Gloss: http://www.sephora.com/lip-tar-stained-gloss-P379819?skuId=1598143

tartelipreview

Next is the out of stock Tarte Glamazon Pure Performance 12-Hour Lipstick in the shade Foxy that I bought on sale for 19$. I love this colour, it is a bright neon fuschia and it quite opaque. It is beautiful.

Opacity: 4

Application: 4

Longevity: 4

Image

This next one is my new favourite lipstick. This is the mini Bite lipstick I received after becoming a VIB Rouge, it is actually called Bite for VIB Rouge. It is super creamy and pigmented. It is a lovely red and feel a little hydrating too. If this is the same formula that the other Bite products have then I will need to expand my collection. If anyone has used other Bite products please let me know.

Opacity: 4

Application: 5

Longevity: 4

Bite VIB Crème Rouge exclusive shade: http://www.sephora.com/vib-rouge-creme-lipstick-P381813?skuId=1556208

Other Bite Luminous Crème lipsticks: http://www.sephora.com/luminous-creme-lipstick-P283903?skuId=1611284

Image

Finally is my newest lip product. It is the Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick. This was my first time applying it and it is really interesting. It is the most opaque one I tried and it such a pretty colour. It goes on matte which is nice, but can tend to turn a little drying so the last frame is when I put some of my Fresh Sugar Shine on top to hydrate. This is in the colour Icon. It is a beautiful colour and easy enough to apply.

Opacity: 5

Application: 4

Longevity: 5

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipsticks: http://www.sephora.com/opaque-rouge-liquid-lipstick-P375384?skuId=1553593&country_switch=ca

 

 

Leave a Reply

